The House of God is a House of Order

“Often we speak of keys of priesthood authority. Fifteen living men–the First Presidency and the Twelve–have been ordained as Apostles and have had all keys of priesthood authority conferred upon them. President Gordon B. Hinckley recently explained that ‘only the President of the Church has the right to exercise [those keys] in their fulness. He may delegate the exercise of various of them to one or more of his Brethren. . . .’ (Ensign, Nov. 1992, p. 54.)

“Under assignment from the First Presidency and the Twelve, General Authorities confer the appropriate keys upon presidents of stakes and of missions, who in turn confer the needed keys upon bishops and upon quorum and branch presidents.

“Assigned to each one who bears the priesthood is a loving leader, because ‘mine house is a house of order, saith the Lord God, and not a house of confusion.’ (D&C 132:8.)

“That order also defines bounds of revelation. The Prophet Joseph Smith taught that ‘it is contrary to the economy of God for any member of the Church, or any one, to receive instruction for those in authority, higher than themselves.’ (Teachings of the Prophet Joseph Smith, p. 21.) That same principle precludes receiving revelation for anyone outside one’s defined circle of responsibility.”